Review: Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

image

This book is #3 on my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge list: read a collection of essays.

Wow.

For anyone who has ever been depressed, suffered from anxiety or has had any form of mental illness, this book will make you understand that you’re not alone. The collection of essays covers everything from an autobiographical account of the authors own mental breakdown, their subsequent daily battle with their mental health, what they’ve learnt and what they believe can help. It is funny, moving and painfully honest. As someone who has suffered from mild depression and anxiety I recognised many of the symptoms and behaviours that Matt was talking about that I honestly thought had only happened to me. It made me realise that even though mental health issues are becoming more accepted, it’s still very much a taboo subject for a lot of people.

I thought that as I had had some experience of mental health issues I wouldn’t have any prejudices about the subject. Wrong! The book challenged my own perceptions and made me think about the subject in an entirely different way. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me realise that I am more than my super critical, super anxious brain. It gave me a new perspective on my personality. It made me feel normal. I urge everyone to read it.

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

