Review: The Wicked and the Divine – The Faust Act by Gillian McKelvie and Wilson Cowles

image

This comic was #17 on my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge list: read a non-superhero comic that debuted in the last three years.

Discaimer –  I love a good comic/graphic novel, so I was expecting to like the Wicked and the Divine. It looked exciting. I had high hopes.

I wasn’t disappointed.

I thought that the concept of Gods reincarnating in a ‘normal’ person really interesting. There is a murder mystery element to the storyline which I thought was quite original and worked really well.

But can we talk about the drawings. Ohhh, the artwork is, well, divine. Every page is beautiful. There are characters who look like David Bowie. Characters who look like Florence Welch. Characters who look like Rhianna. They’re all incredible. Super pretty. Glamorous. Slick. Gorgeous.

Loved it.

Overall score: 8/10

Leave a Reply

