Review: Yes Please! by Amy Poehler

image

This book was #9 on my Book Riot Read Harder Challenge list: listen to an Audiobook that’s won an Audie award.

I really struggled to like Amy Poehler’s book. I found myself amazed that it had won an Audie Award. Like, really?

I think I may have liked the book more if I had been American and a) understood the humour (the last chapter was read in front of an American audience and it took until then to realise where the jokes were) and b) understood her references to what I assume are big tv programmes (SNL) and other actors/commedians.

As an autobiography I felt that Amy put in as little information about herself as possible (I’m getting a divorce but ehhhh, I don’t want to talk about it). I found her rambling fashion hard to follow – I think it would have worked better if the book was organised in chronological order. A lot of the content felt like filler to me – in one part Amy names every cast member of Parks and Rec and states ‘I laughed the most when (name)…’ ‘I cried when (name)…’ like she was answering a feedback form for a particularly self indulgent therapy session.

Amy constantly reminds us how hard it was to write the  book. Am I supposed to empathise? I know that she’s busy with other projects and being a mum but it’s not like she has to make a story up!

Thankfully I listened to this book rather than read it so I could have Amy on in the background while I was doing other stuff and not feel like I’d wasted a few hours of my life that I’d never get back.

Oh, and it contains Parks and Rec spoilers with no notice beforehand. Unforgivable!!!!

I have nothing against Amy Poehler, I love Parks and Recreation and she comes across as a warm, lovely person but I found this audiobook really boring. Sorry Amy, no thanks!

Overall score: 4/10.

 

Leave a Reply

