Review: So You Want to be a Wizard by Diane Duane

image

I read this book as part of the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2016 – #8 Read a book published in the year that you were born (1983).

I read some of the reviews of this book before I bought it and immediately I kept coming across Harry Potter comparisons. However, if anyone is hoping that this is some kind of HP predecessor that J.K.Rowling somehow copied without anyone noticing then I’m afraid they’re going to be disappointed. This book is slow, not particularly coherent and not especially exciting. There is no character development – individuals are either good or bad and therefore quite one dimensional. Because the spells take a long time to cast the action is much slower paced and sometimes I struggled to follow the logic that the author had used for the characters to complete their quest. I can see how children would be able to enjoy the story more than adults (you need a very vivid imagination and an accepting nature to believe the concepts presented) but as an adult I really didn’t enjoy it.

If anyone else is looking for a book from 1983 then I would recommend The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett, which is excellent.

Overall rating: 5/10  

Leave a Reply

