Twenty Questions

image

Hello everyone!

I thought that as there’s now quite a few people following my blog, I would post something that would help you to get to know me better sooooooo I’ve devised a questionnaire! Please feel free to answer the questions yourself and pingback to this post, it would be lovely to know more about you 🙂

Twenty Questions

1. How long have you been a reader?
Ever since I can remember. My Mum read to me pretty much from the day I was born so I think my love of books comes from her.

2. Where do you like to read?
I’ll read anywhere but I have a hammock in my garden which is great in the summer. I also have a big leather chair that used to belong to my Grandma which is super comfy and lovely to curl up in.

3. Do you prefer paper books or ereaders?
I have to say that I love my kindle but I do think there’s something special about real paper books. I collect Virago modern classics which are just beautiful and look fantastic on my bookshelves.

4. Where is the literary place that you’ve ever been?
Either Hay-on-Wye or Oxford. Both are fabulous places to visit, I would happily live in either.

5. If you wrote a book what would it be about?
I had an idea about writing a novel set in the future where the Government had run out of cash and decided to start sending UK citizens to a space station so they didn’t have to fund their benefits etc. I’m not sure it would be any good!

6. Would you rather watch TV or read?
Read, definitely. I hardly ever watch TV.

7. What is the most challenging book that you’ve ever read?
Maybe Crime and Punishment? The copy I had was written in the smallest font ever. And that book is loooong.

8. Which book has taken you the longest to read?
Crime and Punishment, the Master and Marguerita or some of the Wheel of Time novels by Robert Jordan are really long.

9. If you could be any character in a book who would you be and why?
Lily Potter, so I could ditch James and live happily ever after with Snape. I’d have to hope someone else could get rid of Voldemort.

10. Are there any free ebooks that you would recommend?
Yes, the Debt and the Doormat by Laura Barnard. Its not the type of book I would usually read but I really enjoyed it. I think it’s still available for free on Amazon. 

11. What book would you take to a desert island?
A survival guide! But if there was plentiful water, food etc. I would take an omnibus edition of all of the Dark Tower books by Stephen King. They’ve been on my TBR list for years and I’ve never got round to finishing the series, even though I have really enjoyed what I’ve read so far.

12. Have you ever not finished a book?
The Stand by Stephen King. I got about a quarter of the way in and found it so scary that I couldn’t continue. I will read it all one day (maybe).

13. Have you ever been really disappointed by the way that a book ends?
About half of all Stephen King’s books have rubbish endings but I think Under the Dome was probably the worst. I got completely confused by Minority Report by Philip K Dick so I just didn’t understand the ending – I think I’ll have to re-read that too. And finally, when Snape died in Harry Potter I was furious. If she could save a bloody hippogriff JK Rowling could certainly have saved him.

14. If you could kill any character in a book who would it be and why?
I tend to think that all characters (even the annoying ones) add something to a story… except for Anastacia in Fifty Shades of Grey. I would like to have replaced her with a character who genuinely was submissive in the bedroom but who knew what she was doing and actively wanted that kind of relationship.

15. Have you ever read a book and wanted to go to the location it described?
Obviously I would love to go to Hogwarts but in terms of real places I think Eat, Pray, Love made Italy sound amazing – I would love to follow up on the pizza and ice cream recommendations! Also, Pretty Good Number One by Matthew Amster Burton was such a fantastic account of Japanese food and culture that really captured my imagination (there’s a full review on my blog). 

16. What is the biggest life lesson that you’ve learnt from a book?
How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran taught me so much about feminism and completely opened my eyes to the everyday sexism that exists in the world around us. It taught me that it’s ok to speak up, it’s ok if men don’t think of you as sexy, it’s ok to be yourself. I think that book should be given to all teenagers (boys and girls) as an antidote to western media influences.

17. Has a book ever changed your life?
Yes, Confessions of a Sociopath by M E Thomas taught me so much about myself that it completely changed the way that I viewed the world (I have a review of this book on my blog too). 

18. Has a book ever made you cry?
Yes, Harry Potter (all the deaths) and Me before You by Jojo Moyes was pretty upsetting too.

19. Have you ever re-read a book and changed your mind about it?
I read the Hobbit when I was about 8 and absolutely hated it – in hindsight I think I was just too young to appreciate it. When I read it again as an adult I loved it! I also found the start of the Dark Tower books very slow – I couldn’t see what all the fuss was about until I got into book two.

20. Which film adaptations of books have you enjoyed?
The later Harry Potter films (the actors, especially Emma Watson, are immensely annoying in the first few). I know it’s not quite a book but I really liked Sin City. There are a couple of Studio Ghibli films that have been adapted from books which are on my wishlist to read/watch, I’m sure they’re brilliant as always. Apart from that, I tend to get very annoyed by film adaptations. I’m one of those awful people who sit in the cinema complaining that it’s not supposed to be like that!   

Leave a Reply

