Book Fetish

So, a couple of years ago, I stumbled across Virago Modern Classics. They are beautifully bound, sexy-as-hell hardback copies of modern classic books written by women. I started collecting them and I have to say, they’ve become something of an obsession. I mean, look at them. LOOK AT THEM!

I don’t want to get too weird about these books but they really do epitomise the term “book fetish” for me. They are heavy and pretty and the paper is thick and creamy and the font is classic and the covers are always amazing…mmmmm! I even love it when they get a little bit of wear on the cover – instead of looking tatty I think it just adds to their charm.

Through collecting VMC’s I’ve been Introduced to some great books and fabulous authors like Patricia Highsmith, Daphne DuMaurier and Angela Carter. I know that I will keep and treasure these beautiful books forever. At around £15 each they’re not cheap but to me they are well worth it, and make great presents. There’ll definitely be a few titles on my Xmas list this year.

image

I’ve seen a couple of other publishers produce high quality hardback special editions (like the Penguin drop caps series shown above) but so far nothing as pretty as Virago. Do any of you collect such editions? Do you actually read them? Do you think they’re worth the money? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

