Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017

image

Hello lovely readers,

Well, it’s that time of year again to start making lists, drawing progress charts and trawling Goodreads threads for suggestions – yes, it’s the new Book Riot #Read Harder 2017 Challenge!

As you’re probably aware, I became slightly obsessed with the 2016 challenge and completed it in a few months. I found some great reads and surprised myself at what I learnt (food memoirs are great, reading out loud sucks). So, I was reallyย  looking forward to the 2017 Read Harder Challenge.

First impressions of the challenge are…they weren’t joking when the called it read harder, were they? Perhaps “categorise harder” would have been more appropriate – some of the themes are pretty obscure (a character of colour going on a spiritual journey anyone?) And exactly what constitutes a micropress?

Thankfully, there’s lots of discussion on Goodreads and Book Riot themselves have published articles to help readers to correctly identify novels which fit within the categories. Personally, I don’t get too hung up on the specifics as I think the overarching aim is just to make you read more widely but for some of the themes I literally have no idea.

I’ve noticed this year that there’s hardly any books on my TBR that I’ve been able to use for the challenge. I guess that’s the whole point but this does have a cost implication. Thankfully Netgalley is a wonderful source of free reading material so I guess I’ll be using them lots. Plus there’s always the library (although it has been threatened with imminent closure).

Unfortunately, some of the categories mentioned in the challenge hold very little appeal for me. I hate re-reading books, I can’t find anything engaging that fits the definition of “a non fiction book about technology” and I have very little interest in sports. If anyone has any suggestions for these categories please let me know!

Despite this, I hope that this year’s challenge is as enjoyable as last year’s and I look forwards to uncovering some hidden gems that would otherwise have passed me by.

Happy reading!

Lucinda x

5 thoughts on “Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017

  1. I agree – some of these categories are quite obscure! I don’t actually know if the book I chose for a micropress is actually from a micropress, but hey, that’s what I’m going with. The Goodreads threads do offer some great suggestions for the categories. I’m sure you’ve already seen this suggestion, but The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a really great, engaging nonfiction book that reads like a novel and is about medical technology. It’s easy to think of technology as limited to computers, but much of we do can qualify. I haven’t read Thunderstruck, by Erik Larson and about the inventor of wireless telegraphy, but knowing how great The Devil in the White City was, i’d recommend any of his other books. For sports, I loved Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. It may not be quite as endearing if you’re a non-runner, but in the memoir he talks as much about his writing and life as he does about the sport. Another possibility would be Unbroken, which would also qualify as a book about war. Heartbreaking, but so fantastic. Like you, I think the main goal is to reach farther than you normally would with your reading, so even if you falter in a couple categories, you can still consider it a personal success.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh, thank you for your recommendations! I’d completely forgotten about the Murakami book, I really love his work so I think I’ll enjoy reading What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. I’ll check out your other suggestions too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Here are my recommendations ๐Ÿ™‚

    Read a book about sports – I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, biography by Zlatan. It’s pretty good even if you don’t like sports, even if you don’t like sports and even if you don’t know who Zlatan is ๐Ÿ˜€
    Read a book about books – Matilda or If on a winter’s night a traveler
    Read an all-ages comic – V for Vendetta
    Read a book published between 1900 and 1950 -White Fang, East of Eden?
    Read a nonfiction book about technology – Elon Musk: Inventing the Future by Ashlee Vance, really good biography and like it’s interesting to read about Tesla and how much of problems they had.
    Read a book about war – Fiction: All the Light We Cannot See (really recommend this one ),Salt to the Sea, The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (like hell of a sad), English Patient (more romance) or then there’s plenty of good nonfiction by Anthony Beever, The Liberator: One World War II Soldier’s 500-Day Odyssey from the Beaches of Sicily to the Gates of Dachau (nonfiction that reads like fiction, it’s pretty action packed)…
    Read a superhero comic with a female lead – Wynonna Earp, The Sandman
    Read a book published by a micropress – Star Racers by Martin Felando ๐Ÿ™‚
    Read a collection of stories by a woman – Anything by Alice Munro, or Shirley Jackson
    Read a book wherein all point-of-view characters are people of color – Push by Sapphire (also hell of a sad)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

