Are You a Librarian? Stop Everything and Read This

Hello lovelies,

I need help! I’m doing a reading challenge with Popsugar and one of the categories is “read a book recommended by a librarian”. Quite frankly, the thought of walking into my main library and saying “hi, recommend a book to me!” is quite frankly terrifying (also I can’t work out how to say this sentence without it sounding incredibly threatening). So, if any of you are librarians could you please recommend something for me to read?

I’m a total magpie when it comes to books so I’ll be happy with a recommendation from any genre.

Thank you in advance!

(Also, I’m struggling to complete two of the Read Harder categories: read a book set in central or south America by a central or south American author and Read a collection of poetry in translation on a theme other than love. Any ideas would be much appreciated!)

Much love,

Lucinda x

5 thoughts on “Are You a Librarian? Stop Everything and Read This

  1. You may have already thought of this, but I’m going to say it anyway in case you haven’t: does your library/library system have a website? Or the UK version of the American Library Association? If you don’t get any recs here, anything you pull from them would definitely count as a rec from a librarian! (That’s the route I would go – I would also be hesitant to walk in and ask directly for a rec.)

    For the poetry in translation read harder task, I recently stumbled upon The Forbidden: Poems from Iran and Its Exiles. It’s translated from Persian and the poems are about the Islamic Revolution in the 70s. I haven’t read it yet (still waiting for the library hold), but it piqued my interest because of the subject matter and because it wasn’t by someone you might encounter in school, like Baudelaire or Rilke, who I had been considering. I’m actually looking forward to reading it.

    For the Central/South America task, your biggies are obviously Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Isabel Allende. I read One Hundred Years of Solitude, which I do not recommend, but he has many shorter books and even collections of short stories that might be of interest. I’ve read a couple of those and enjoyed them. I’ve only ever read The House of the Spirits by Allende, which I loved, but she is quite prolific and has many titles to choose from. Although The Alchemist is set in Spain and Africa, Paulo Coelo is from Brazil and is prolific as well. And though some consider the Dominican Republic to be in Central America and some do not, you could certainly defer to those who do and pick up something by Junot Diaz.

    So, no specific recs, but I hope that helps your search!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m not sure if there is a website but I will definitely check it out (or look at the American ones). Great idea! Yes I read One Hundred Years of Solitude too and it really put me off reading anything by Gabriel Garcia Marquez ever again, perhaps I should give some of his other works a go. I’ll see if the library has the poetry book that you recommended too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My library (chipublib.org) always has great recs on their homepage. And I’m so glad One Hundred Years of Solitude was not my first Garcia Marquez book – I would never have read anything by him again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

