Review: Nasty Women – A Collection of Essays and Accounts on What it is to be a Woman in the 21st Century

image

Picture credit: http://www.netgalley.com

Funny, poignant, interesting, intriguing and challenging – there is something for everyone in this collection of essays by women about their lives in the 21st Century. The book covers a range of topics from the female perspective, including intersectional feminism, disabled access and consent amongst many others. Written from first hand experience, the voices are authentic and honest and provide a personal insight into issues which often go unchallenged within mainstream feminist narrative.

Because I hadn’t even considered some of the topics within Nasty Women I did find that a couple of the essays made me a little uncomfortable – which I think can only be a good thing. I know I’ve definitely been at best apathetic to certain problems which I’m now much more aware of. I loved the way that the book made me realise these things without being preachy or judgemental.

My personal favourite essay was about one girl’s love for Courtney Love. I really identified with what she was saying as I grew up in that post grunge Britpop and nu metal music scene. I also have mixed feelings about Courtney Love and I thought that the author really explored the good and bad whilst reminding the reader that Courtney is a woman who has been vilified by the press, was left widowed at a young age with a young child and is an addict with mental health issues.

Throughout the book there is some really excellent writing which is obviously completely authentic. It’s unusual to get a flavour of feminism through a particular lens from the people who are experiencing it all together in one book. It’s a great mix of people and experiences although I did think it was lacking something from the business community. It was a shame that no one talked about the gender pay gap, women at work, female leaders etc. There must be feminist business leaders/economists/HR people out there who have something to say about these issues.

I thought this book was a really good read with plenty of food for thought. It was quick to get through, covered a variety of topics and the first person narrative made it really interesting. I thought it was a good starting point for lots of issues that really need more discussion. A great book for International Woman’s Day!

Rating: 7/10.

Please note that I read this book for free via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thanks, Netgalley! I also read this book as part of the Popsugar Reading Challenge #15 Read a book with a subtitle and the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017 #21 Read a book published by a micropress.

Note on the publisher: this book has been published by 404ink, a new, alternative, UK based independent publisher. They can be found here. Check them out!

4 thoughts on “Review: Nasty Women – A Collection of Essays and Accounts on What it is to be a Woman in the 21st Century

Leave a Reply

